ICC awards Netherlands, Nepal with T20I status

ISLAMABAD: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has agreed to give Twenty20 International status to the Netherlands and Nepal at its two-day annual conference which concluded in Melbourne on Saturday. This means that there are now eight ICC Associate Members with T20I status. The other six are Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and the United Arab Emirates (UAE), who have T20I status by virtue of having One-Day International (ODI) status. The ICC Board also confirmed that the USA Cricket Association (USACA) was the ICC’s recognised member in the USA and approved the Development Committee’s recommendation that Oman Cricket (OC) should become its 38th Associate Member. However, it also confirmed the suspension of Brunei and removal of Tonga from the Affiliate Membership. Associate and Affiliate Members also decided to re-elect Singapore’s Imran Khawaja and Bermuda’s Neil Speight for another two years as their representatives to the board while Cricket Scotland chairman Keith Oliver was replaced by Francois Erasmus of Namibia.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal