President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament : Sarfraz, Tahir help PIA register big victory

President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament  :  Sarfraz, Tahir help PIA register big victory

ISLAMABAD: A seventh-wicket partnership of 294 between Sarfraz Ahmed and Tahir Khan helped Pakistan International Airlines score a nine-wicket win over Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited in their four-day match of the President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament at Pindi Stadium in Rawalpindi on Tuesday. Having bowled ZTBL out for 179, PIA were 157 for 7 when Tahir joined wicketkeeper Sarfraz at the crease. Sarfraz was eventually out for a 198-ball 165 while Tahir remained unbeaten on a 205-ball 141, his maiden first-class century, as PIA took a 323-run lead. Medium-pacer Imran Khan took five wickets for ZTBL. ZTBL did well to make PIA bat again, scoring 354 thanks to an explosive 130-ball 154 from their captain Imran Nazir, who struck 21 fours and two sixes. But no one else made more than 37, and left-arm seamer Najaf Shah struck regularly to finish with six wickets, leaving PIA to chase 32 for victory. They got there in 7.2 overs, losing opener Shehzar Mohammad along the way. 
National Bank play drawn game against SNGPL: All-rounder Hammad Azam scored 87 and an unbeaten 106, his highest first-class score, to earn National Bank of Pakistan (NBP) a draw against Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL) in At Diamond Ground in Islamabad. Having chosen to bat, SNGPL were all out for 394, with Ali Waqas scoring an unbeaten 127 and Khurram Shehzad making 76. For NBP, medium-pacers Ataullah and Hammad took three wickets each. SNGPL’s new-ball pair of Samiullah Khan and Asad Ali – who were to end up sharing nine wickets in the innings – scythed through NBP’s top and middle order to leave them gasping at 44 for 6. This was when Hammad walked in. He shared stands of 72 and 84 with Qaiser Abbas and Wahab Riaz for the seventh and eighth wickets to push NBP’s total to 204. Hammad was the eighth wicket to fall for a 114-ball 87, with 13 fours and two sixes. It still wasn’t enough to avert the follow-on. NBP began their second innings 190 behind and were only 59 ahead when Fawad Alam fell for 98 to leave the team 249 for 6. Samiullah, who had taken four wickets in the first innings, now had his fourth for the second innings, but that was to be SNGPL’s last success of the match, as Qaiser and Hammad remained unbeaten through the last 39.1 overs of the match. They put on 181, with Qaiser finishing not out on 115 off 198 balls, with 15 fours and a six, and Hammad on 106 off 122, with 10 fours and five sixes. 
Summarised scores
1: At Pindi Cricket Stadium Rawalpindi, ZTBL first innings 179 in 43.4 overs (Haseeb-ur-Rehman 28, Baber Azam 27, Mohammad Khalil 57, 69 balls, 7x4s, 1x6s, Najaf Shah 2-30, Aizaz Cheema 4-83, Kamran Sajid 2-22, Tahir Khan 2-20) VS PIA first innings 502 in 110.4 overs (Shehzar Mohammad 20, Fahad Iqbal 26, Faisal Iqbal 26, Sarfraz Ahmed 165, 198 balls, 21 x4s, Tahir Khan 141, 205 balls, 19 x4s, 1x6s 294 runs 7th wicket partnership between Sarfraz & Tahir; Imran Khan 5-113, Mohammad Khalil 3-125) ZTBL second innings 354 in 71.1 overs (Imran Nazir 152, 130 balls, 21x4s, 2x6s, Yasir Hameed 28, Shahid Yousuf 21, Haseeb-ur-Rehman 29, Luqman Butt 37, Iftikhar Anjum 24, Najaf Shah 6-80, Kamran Sajid 2-33, Tahir Khan 2-58) PIA second innings 32-1 in 7.2 overs  
Result: PIA won by nine wickets 
Toss: PIA
2: At Diamond Club Ground in Islamabad, SNGPL first innings 394 in 120.4 overs (Naeem-ud-Din 63, 132 balls, 7x4s, Khurram Shahzad 76, Ali Waqas 127, 218 balls, 18x4s, Adnan Akmal 35, Samiullah Khan 41, Ataullah 3-75, Wahab Riaz 2-91, Hammad Azam 3-66) VS National Bank of Pakistan first innings 204 in 48 overs (Nasir Jamshed 13, Hammad Azam 87, 114 balls, 13x4s, 2x6s, Wahab Riaz 31, Samiullah Khan Niazi 4-55, Asad Ali 5-53) after following second innings 430-6 in 109 overs (Umer Waheed 34, Fawad Alam 98, 163 balls, 14x4s, Kamran Akmal 28, Qaiser Abbas 115*, 198 balls, 15x4s, 1x6s, Hammad Azam 106*, 122 balls, 10x4s, 5x6s, Samiullah Khan Niazi 4-117)
Result: Match Drawn
Toss: SNGPL.

comments powered by Disqus