President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament : Akbar sparkles as PTV score 5-wicket victory over State Bank

President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament :  Akbar sparkles as PTV score  5-wicket victory over State Bank

ISLAMABAD: Fast bowler Rizwan Akbar finished the match with 10 for 89 – his best figures in first-class cricket – to help Pakistan Television secure a five-wicket win over State Bank of Pakistan in their four-day President’s Trophy Cricket Tournament match at National Ground in Islamabad on Monday. Akbar took five-wicket hauls in both innings, leaving PTV chasing a target of 132, which they overhauled in 32.4 overs thanks to a fifty from Nawaz Ahmed. Akbar had run through State Bank’s middle order in the first innings to bundle them out for 178 – Mohammad Saad’s 97 being the only major source of runs. But PTV did not fare much better in their first essay either. Fast bowlers Mohammad Naved and Tabish Khan picked up seven wickets between them to skittle PTV out for 159 inside 50 overs. 
WAPDA down Habib Bank by 10 wickets: With a 19-run first-innings lead, State Bank would have hoped to push for a big total, but only three of their batsmen entered double figures, and once again, Akbar rattled their line-up to dismiss them for 112. Ahmed Said’s unbeaten 76 in Water and Power Development Authority’s first innings proved crucial as they went on to down Habib Bank Limited by 10 wickets in a low-scoring game in Marghazar Ground Islamabad. Replying to Habib Bank’s 180, WAPDA were 180 for eight before wicketkeeper Said put on 72 for the last two wickets with Azhar Attari and Mohammad Haseeb, who between them hung on for 81 balls to score 11. Said finished unbeaten on 76 off 147 balls, with 12 fours. For Habib Bank, left-arm spinner Mohammad Aslam took five wickets. WAPDA’s 72-run lead proved match-winning, as Habib Bank folded for 131 in their second innings. Seam bowler Attari finished with seven wickets in the match. Chasing 60, WAPDA reached their target in just 10.2 overs. 
United Bank beat KRL by 6 wickets: Off-spinner Atif Maqbool took ten wickets as United Bank Limited defeated Khan Research Laboratories by six wickets at KRL Stadium in Rawalpindi. Having sent KRL in to bat, United Bank bowled them out for 76, with Maqbool picking up 6 for 22. United Bank didn’t fare much better themselves, as they were bowled out for 153 with left-arm spinner Saeed Anwar Jr grabbing five wickets. That lead of 77, made possible by Wajihuddin’s 140-ball 50, was to prove crucial. KRL batted much better in their second innings, with Usman Salahuddin and Ali Khan making 65 each and putting on 117 for the fifth wicket to propel their score to 234. Maqbool took four wickets, while Kashif Bhatti took five with his left-arm spin. United Bank reached their target of 158 in 55.3 overs, as six of their top seven got into double-figures with Mohammad Zohaib and Saeed Bin Nasir chipping in with 40 and 42 respectively.

Summarised scores:

1: At National Ground Islamabad, State Bank of Pakistan first innings 178 in 58.2 overs (Mohammad Saad 97, 129 balls, 17x4s, Rizwan Haider 36, Tabish Khan 17, Rizwan Akbar 5-48, Mohammad Ali 4-54) VS PTV first innings 158 in 48.1 overs (Imran Ali 41, Yasim Murtaza 49*, 55 balls, 9x4s, Mohammad Naved 3-41, Tabish Khan 4-57) State Bank of Pakistan second innings 112 in 38.1 overs (Kashif Siddiq 22, Umair Khan 25, Rizwan Haider 43, Rizwan Akbar 5-41, Mohammad Ali 2-29, Mohammad Abbas 2-33) PTV second innings 135-5 in 32.5 overs (Nawaz Ahmed 52, Zeeshan Mushtaq 36, Tabsih Khan 3-34)
Result: PTV won by five wickets 

Toss: PTV

2: At Marghazar Ground in Islamabad, Habib Bank Limited first innings 180 in 68.5 overs (Jamal Anwar 33, Rameez Aziz 30, Younis Khan 19, Hasan Raza 28, Azhar Attari 4-57, Mohammad Hafeez 3-31, Zulfiqar Baber 2-54) VS WAPDA first innings 252 in 76 overs (Ahmed Said 76, Ayaz Tassawar 46, Aamir Sajjad 30, Riffatullah 30, Aslam Qureshi 5-63, Ahsan Adil 2-85) Habib Bank Limited second innings 131 in 40.3 overs (Aftab Alam 30, Aslam Qureshi 22, Rameez Aziz 21, Abdul Ameer 15*, Azhar Attari 3-39, Mohammad Naeem 4-19, Mohammad Hafeez 2-32) WAPDA second innings 60-0 in 10.2 overs (Ali Rafiq 21*. Mohammad Ayub 37*)
Result: WAPDA won by 10 wickets. 


3: At KRL Stadium in Rawalpindi, KRL first innings 76 in 39.4 overs (Usman Salahuddin 21, Zain Abbas 12, Atif Maqbool 6-22, Kashif Bhatti 2-12, Tariq Haroon 2-16) VS United Bank Limited first innings 153 in 68.2 overs (Ali Asad 35, Wajihuddin 50, Nayyar Abbas 3-50, Saeed Anwar Jr 5-26, Rahat Ali 2-28) KRL second innings 234 in 78.5 overs (Ali Khan 65, Usman Salahuddin 65, Tayyab Riaz 21, Kashif Bhatti 5-72, Atif Maqbool 4-114) United Bank Limited second innings 158-4 in 55.3 overs (Saeed Bin Nasir 42*, Khaqan Arsal 26, Hafiz Zohaib 40, Yasir Ali 2-33) 
Result: United Bank Limited won by six wickets
Toss: United Bank Limited.

comments powered by Disqus