Pakistan's women cricketers to tour Australia

Competition with Australian team will mature Pakistani players

KARACHI – Pakistan on Wednesday announced a 14-member women's cricket team for their first-ever tour of Australia in a bid to prepare for their title defence in the Asian Games.

The team led by the experienced Sana Mir will play four one-day and as many Twenty20 internationals during the tour from August 15 to September 6. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) hoped competition with the Australian team, world champions in both the 50-over and Twenty20 formats, will mature their players for the future assignments which includes the Asian Games.

Pakistan won the Asian Games women's title in Guangzhou, China in 2010 and will defend the title in Incheon, South Korea. The Asian Games will be held from September 16 to October 4. Besides Pakistan, teams from Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Nepal, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, South Korea and Thailand will feature in the Asian Games women's cricket event.

Squad – Sana Mir (captain), Bismah Maroof, Nain Abidi, Sidra Nawaz, Nida Rashid, Javeria Wadood, Asmavia Iqbal, Marina Iqbal, Aliya Riaz, Qanita Jalil, Sumaiya Siddiqui, Maham Tariq, Sania iqbal, Sadia Yousuf.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal