Shabbir wins J A Zaman Memorial Open Golf Championship

Shabbir wins J A Zaman Memorial Open Golf Championship

LAHORE: Mohammad Shabbir of Ufone won the 1st J A Zaman Memorial Open Golf Championship that concluded at the par-72 Gymkhana Club Golf Course here on Sunday. Shabbir who played consistently well and managed to successfully stay ahead of his rivals on all three days of the championship. He was the leader at the end of the first round, at the completion of the second round he was again the frontrunner and all through the final round he was not under threat at any stage. His scores for the three rounds were 68, 67 and 71 and the total aggregate score was 206, ten under par. The conquering mood was apparent in all aspects of his game. And while the shot making reflected total accuracy, the short game around the greens was simply masterful and all this made him a rightful winner.
As for the other notable performers the names that deserve a prominent mention were Daanyal Jehangir, Safdar Khan, Aadil Jehangir and Aashir Masih. The upcoming golf professional Daanyal Jehangir, who has had a torrid time last year on the golf circuit, came up with a wonder packed performance in this championship. He scored a 72 on the first day, another 72 on the second day and on the final day it was all brilliance as he packed his round with nine birdies which was record breaking. His aggregate for the championship was 210, six under par and he attained the second position. In the process he also edged past Safdar Khan another notable performer of this championship. In the amateur section, Zohaib Asif was the top one with a three-day score of 227. Salman Jehangir (229)was second and Robin Bagh (231) came third. The net section winner was Nasir Irshad, his score being net 212 followed by Danish Javed Khan net 216 and Waheed Akbar was third at 216.
Other results: women’s net Mrs Nighat Akram (3rd net), Mrs Shahnaz Moeen (2nd net), Zaib un Nisa (first net), Sameea Javed Ali (3rd gross), Mrs Noorie Zaman (2nd gross) and Maryama Khan (1st gross). Veterans: Ch Mohammed Ashraf (3rd net), Javaid A Zia (2nd net), Sardar Arif Rashid (1st net) UD Najmi (3rd gross), RM Bajwa (2nd gross) and Asim Durrani (1st gross). Seniors: Dr Khurram Saadat (3rd net), Rai Aziz Ullah (2nd net), Irfan Saeed (1st net), Alam Sethi (3rd gross), Javed A Khan (2nd gross) and Ch Naeem Akhter (1st gross). Subsidiary Match: Ahmed Khalid (2nd net), Khawaja Jehanzaib (1st net), Ahsen Saeed Mian (2nd gross) and Shaban Alam(1st gross) At the conclusion of the championship, Mrs J A Zaman awarded prizes to the winners. Hamid Zaman, the son of iconic J A Zaman, committed that this would be an annual event. 
Top positions achieved by professionals:
1: Mohammad Shabbir (Ufone) 68+67+71=206
Danyaal Jehangir (Gymkhana) 72+72+66=210
Safdar Khan (Gujranwala) 69+69+73=211
Aadil Jehangir (Gymkhana) 71+72+69=212
Ashir Masih (Gymkhana) 70+71+72=213
Talat Ijaz (Gymkhana) 69+75+70=214
Mohammad Asif (Defence Raya) 74+69+75=215
Shahid Javed Khan (Royal Palm) 79+65+72=216

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine