Scotland win ICC World Cup Qualifying Tournament

Scotland win ICC World Cup Qualifying Tournament

CHRISTCHURCH:  Scotland captain Preston Mommsen made an unbeaten 139 on Saturday to set up a 41-run win over the United Arab Emirates in the final of the International Cricket Council’s World Cup Qualifying Tournament. Scotland made 285 for 5 batting first in Saturday’s final and Swapnil Patel not out on 99 as the UAE made 244 for 9 in reply. Both teams had already qualified for the World Cup by making the final, and will join the top nations at the tournament in Australia and New Zealand over February and March, 2015. Scotland will play in Group A with New Zealand, Australia, England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan while UAE will play in Group B with India, Pakistan, South Africa, the West Indies, Zimbabwe and Ireland.
Brief scores:
Scotland 285-5 (P Mommsen 139, R Berrington 63; A Guruge 3-67, Khurram Khan 1-46)
UAE 244-9 (S Patil 99, Amjad Ali 34; S Sharif 3-41, L Taylor 3-48, I Wardlaw 3-58)
Toss: Scotland and chose to bat
Man of the match: P Mommsen (SCO)
Player of the series: P Mommsen (SCO)
Umpires: M Gough (ENG) and J Wilson (WI).

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine