Hours after suspension, MQM restores 19 men

* Members of Rabita Committee were suspended over ‘irresponsible behaviour’

KARACHI: Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Rabita Committee (RC) on Sunday reinstated 19 of its members after suspending them earlier in the day. 
The Rabita Committee had suspended 19 of its members for their “irresponsible behaviour”. According to an MQM statement, when the party’s International Secretariat called Nine-Zero, the MQM headquarters in Karachi, at 11:05am (7:05 am London time) and asked for the attendance report, it was told that deputy conveners Nusrat Shaukat, Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui and members of Rabita Committee were sleeping. These people told the party chief, Altaf Hussain that they had just woken up as they were on night shift. 
In response to Altaf’s enquiry, they told him that the morning shift people had not arrived yet. The Rabita Committee suspended these 19 members citing “irresponsible behaviour” for an indefinite period. The suspended members were Kanwar Naveed, Nasreen Jalil, Haider Abbas Rizvi, Mumtaz Anwar, Dr Saghir Ahmed, Kahaf Alwarah, Tauseef Khanzada, Syed Shakir Ali, Saif Yar Khan, Adil Khan, Khalid Sultan, Nisar Panwar, Yusuf Shahwani, Aslam Afridi, Aminul Haq, Ahmed Saleem Siddiqui, Abdul Rasheed, Ashfaq Ahmed Mangi and Aadil Siddiqui. The suspended members had tendered an apology to the party. MQM chief Altaf Hussain has endorsed the Rabita Committee decision to reinstate them.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal