Govt finalises arrangements to mark I-Day with fervour

KARACHI: The Sindh government has decided to celebrate Independence Day throughout the province in a befitting manner and with renewal of commitment that they would continue playing their role for national solidarity, supremacy of constitution and continuity of democracy in the country.Glowing tributes would be paid to officers and jawans of Pakistan Army who rendered unmatched sacrifices for defending national frontiers and to people who contributed for integrity of Pakistan and protection of democratic system in the country. It was decided in a meeting chaired by Senior Minister for Education Nisar Ahmed Khuhro here on Friday.The meeting that was attended by provincial minister Faisal Sabzwari, Sharmila Farooqui, Secretaries of General Administration and culture, commissioner Karachi and others also finalised arrangements and plans to mark independence day.On the eve of August 13 Sindh Assembly, Sindh Secretariat and other official buildings would be illuminated while members of provincial assembly would light candles in a ceremony at Sindh assembly, Nisar Khuhro said, adding that candles would also be lit at monument of Karsaz martyrs to pay tribute to army personnel who sacrificed their lives for integrity of the country and protection of democracy.Flag hoisting ceremonies would be held at provincial capital and divisional and district headquarters along with special programmes in educational institutes and fireworks in the evening.He said that in connection with Independence Day a week long youth festival would be celebrated by ministry of youth affairs from Aug 10 in Karachi and culture department would organise mega musical show at Arts Council Karachi.Exhibitions of rare pictures of heroes of Pakistan movement would be held at flag staff house Karachi, Mehran Arts Council Hyderabad, Cultural Centre Bhit Shah, he said.Flag hoisting ceremonies followed by playing of national anthem, national songs, tableau and speech contests would be held on Aug 14 at Mirpurkhas, Larkana, Dadu, Shikarpur, Kairpur Mirs, Matiari, Sehwan, Rato Dero and Nau Dero, he said. 

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal