Police arrest eight ‘terrorists’ for planning attacks on professionals

 LAHORE: The CIA police claimed on Friday to have arrested eight terrorists affiliated with two banned organisations allegedly involved in planning attacks on high-profile personalities, including journalists, doctors, lawyers and other professionals, and recovered suicide jackets, explosives, hand grenades and other weapons from their possession.
Addressing a press conference at Qila Gujjar Singh Police Lines on Friday, Capital City Police Officer (CCPO) Chaudhry Shafiq Ahmed said that the suspects identified as Shafique, Mohammad Azam Warden, Saqib Anjum, Ubaidullah, alias Baidi, Mohammad Aftab, Qari Mushtaq, Hafiz Azeem and Qari Asif, had planned to attack religious leaders and professionals, including journalists Fahad Hussain, Salim Bokahri, Hassan Nisar and Mohsin Naqvi, former ambassador Syeda Abida Hussain, former advocate general Ashter Ausaf, former judge Zahid Hussain Bokhari, Badshahi Masjid Khateeb Abdul Khabeer Azad, Dr Khadim Hussain, Usman Qasmi, Alama Tahir Mahmood Ashrfi, Peer Haroon Gilani, Tayyiba Khanam Bukhari, Haider Ali Mirza, Waqarul Hussain Naqvi, Mushtaq Hussain Jafri, Jawad Naqvi, Shakar Naqvi, senior journalist Hassan Askari Rizvi, civil judge Ashter Abbas, Mayo Hospital Quaid-i-Azam Musafar Khana head Muhammad Younas, Social Security Officer Bobi Dogar, renewed Qawal Sher Miandad, Advocate Asma Jahngir and others.
He said that the suspects had also planned to carry out suicide attack and blow up the stage during National Anthem Festival on the lawns of the Punjab University, which function was postponed due to this threat. He said that the suspects had been involved in several target-killing incidents in the city also.
It is worth mentioning that the Lahore police had arrested six members of the banned outfit, Lashkar-e-Jhangvi (LJ), involved in killing high-profile personalities and other criminal activities.
The suspects had admitted to their involvement in over 18 killings and murder attempts on high-profile personalities including Ghulam Raza Jaffari, Syed Ali Hussain Qizalbash, Mubashar Hussain, Shamsur Rehman, Shakir Ali Rizvi, Dr Syed Ali Haider, Khurram Raza Qadri, Allama Nasir Abbas, Asghar Nadeem Syed, Raza Rumi, Abid Naqvi, Dr Saghir Asghar and others. 

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal