PTI's Punjab Assembly MPAs submit resignations

LAHORE – Opposition Leader in the Punjab Assembly and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf's (PTI) member Mehmoodur Rashid and 28 other party members handed their resignations from the house in the Punjab Assembly Secretariat on Wednesday.

However, two the PTI MPAs from Punjab, Nighat Inqiar and Jahanzaib Kichi, have not submitted their resignations and Rashid said the two lawmakers were ‘reluctant’ to resign from the house.

Addressing journalists representatives in Lahore, Rashid said that he and his party colleagues were resigning from the house as the current government had come to power in a ‘rigged’ election.

He said that the federal and the provincial governments had failed to deliver on their promises and the PTI MPAs from Punjab were resigning as per party policy.

The latest round of resignations from the PTI comes as the party has been holding protests and sit-ins in Islamabad against alleged rigging in the May 2013 general elections.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal