Senate yet to nominate members to electoral reforms committee

ISLAMABAD: The Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms has yet to begun functioning, as the Senate has still not received a single nomination for membership of the committee, so far.
The cut-off date for submitting nominations for the Electoral Reforms Committee expires today (Thursday), as per the decision of the meeting of parliamentary heads in Senate, which was chaired by Senate Chairman Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari on July 17. With only one day left, the nominations are yet to be received by the Senate Secretariat, parliamentary sources told Daily Times on Wednesday. It was agreed in the meeting between the National Assembly speaker and Senate chairman that the Senate will forward its nominations to the assembly secretariat after parliamentary parties in the House submit their nominees from the Senate.
As per the formula agreed between the National Assembly and Senate, the 33-member parliamentary committee would comprise of 22 members from the National Assembly and eleven from Senate. Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), PML-Quaid, PML-Functional, Awami National Party (ANP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Balochistan National Party-Awami, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), JUI-F and National Party have representation in the Upper House of parliament.
Parliamentary sources have shown surprise over the slackness of the parliamentary parties in submitting the names of their nominees to this key parliamentary committee. Almost one week has lapsed, sources pointed out, since the parliamentary heads were asked to give the names of their respective party members for the committee. The first meeting of the committee is not likely before Eid. 

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal