PTI asked to give suggestions to improve electoral system

*Dar invites PTI leadership to attend PERC meetings *ECP to brief lawmakers on reforms on Aug 26

ISLAMABAD – Parliamentary Electoral Reforms Committee (PERC) Chairman Senator Ishaq Dar on Tuesday said that the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) would brief the body on electoral reforms on August 26.

All political parties have unanimously decided that there would be no compromise on supremacy of the parliament and the constitution, he said while talking to journalists after chairing a meeting of the PERC here at the Parliament House.

He said that the committee has finalized all modalities, rules and regulations under which the parliamentary body would hold its proceedings to improve the existing electoral system. He said the business community has out rightly rejected the civil disobedience call given by Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan.

Dar deplored that the national economy suffered Rs 450 billion losses due to long marches and sit-ins, adding a team of International Monetary Fund (IMF) could not visit Pakistan in the prevailing situation. The committee had invited public suggestions with regard to bringing improvement in the electoral system, which got positive response and received proposals through email, fax and short massages service (SMS) respectively.

Dar invited PTI to participate in PERC meetings and give constructive suggestions to improve the existing system. National Wattan Party Chairman Aftab Ahmed Sherpao regretted that PTI, on whose demand the committee was formed, was not attending the PERC proceeding. He said there was difference between words and practice of PTI leadership.

He said that PTI would have participated in the PERC meeting, if it really wanted the reforms. Naeema Kishwar of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-F also criticized PTI for its absence from the meeting, urging PTI leadership to send their representatives with positive suggestions at the parliamentary forum.

The parliamentary committee meeting was attended among others by Naveed Qamar, Abdul Rahim Mandokhel, Abdul Hakeem Baloch, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Shazia Mari, Anosha Rehman, Ejaz-ul-Haq, Naeema Kishwar, Aftab Ahmed Sherpao, GG Jamal and Zahid Hamid, except PTI members.


comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal