Poll reforms committee seeks suggestions from public

ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms on Monday sought suggestions from the general public, civil society and parliamentarians for amendments or improvements in the election reforms and elections code of conduct of the constitution by September 1. During the in-camera session of the committee held on Tuesday in the Parliament House under chairmanship of Senator Ishaq Dar where except the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, all political parties attended the meeting. After taking suggestions from the general public, the committee will prepare draft of amendments in the election reforms in the stipulated period of time. After the meeting, chairman of the committee Ishaq Dar told journalists that proper advertisement would be given in the media seeking suggestions from the general public. Both general public and parliamentarians can forward their suggestions. He said, “The terms of reference were also decided in the committee and the committee will try its best to complete the task in due time frame.” He added that the next meeting would be held on August 19. Ishaq Dar said sincerity of the government and committee members can be judged by the fact that within 10 days three meetings had been held.  “I want to complete electoral reforms and election code of conduct as soon as possible,” the minister said.  About the absence of PTI members, the minister said that they had already taken permission for not attending the meeting. However, he said that the PTI members have shown complete confidence over this process. About accusations against the Ministry of Finance, Dar said that he would reply today (Wednesday). The finance minister said that negotiations were in progress with the IMF regarding Dasu Dam and its irrigation will be held on August 18. He also claimed that the economy had shown progress and the international community had already acknowledged it. Responding to a question, he said the country has $ 14 billion foreign exchange reserves.” The 33-member committee has 22 members from the National Assembly while 11 members were from the Upper House of parliament. The MNAs in the committee include Zahid Hamid (PML-N), Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate,  Murtaza Javed Abbasi,  Abdul Hakeem Baloch,  Abdul Rahim Mandokhel, Syed Ghazi Ghulab Jamal, MNA Usman Khan Tarakai Ejazul Haq, Syed Naveed Qamar Shazia Mari Sahibzada Tariq Ullah and Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Farooq Hamid Naek, Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel, Senator Mir and Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed attended the meeting.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal