Poll reforms committee approves ToRs

ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms on Monday agreed over its terms of reference and procedure of the committee and approved the rules of procedures with consensus. The first meeting agreed unanimously on clause-wise review of all rules and regulations.
During the in-camera session of the committee, the draft of the terms of reference could not be finalised due to commencement of the Senate session and some of the senators had to join it. However, it was decided that the draft of the terms of reference and procedure would be finalised today (Tuesday). The meeting of the committee was held under the chairmanship of the Federal Minister for Finance, Senator Ishaq Dar, at parliament house. 
Senator Aitizaz Ahsan, Senator Raza Rabbani, MNA Shazia Marree, PML Mushahid Hussain Syed, PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi, Qaumi Watan Party Chief Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, PML-Zia MNA Ijazul Haq, Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel, JI’s Sher Akbar and JUI-F’s Naeema Kishwar attended the meeting. 
After the meeting, Ishaq Dar told the media that the whole work plan for the committee would be completed today (Tuesday). The committee will also discuss the Senate Special Committee on Election Reform Recommendation in the meeting. Dar said, “Copies of Senate Committee Recommendations was also provided to members for study.” 
Chairman of the committee further said that the scope of work will be according to the National Assembly (NA) resolution and any shortcomings in the previous General Elections would also be brought under discussion. To a question, Dar said that the committee would continue its work despite long march in the capital. Today’s meeting was attended among others by representatives of PTI.
The committee will approve these rules at its meeting today (Tuesday).

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal