Electoral reforms committee finalises ToRs today

ISLAMABAD: The Parliamentary Committee on Electoral Reforms (PCER) will finalise the terms of reference (ToR) in its meeting slated for today (Monday).
The parliamentary committee is meeting at a time when the country is in the grip of political turmoil triggered by Imran Khan’s planned Azadi March on August 14 and Canadian national cleric Tahirul Qadri’s announcements to launch “Inqalab March”. Today’s meeting will be the second of this key committee after it elected Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, a close aide of Prime Minster Nawaz Sharif, as its chairman in the first meeting last Wednesday.
According to the agenda of the meeting the committee would also consider and approve the rules of procedure for its working. It would also take into consideration the recommendations of Senate Special Committee on Election Issues, which gave these recommendations in February 2013 before the general elections last year. The members include Senator Muhammad Ishaq Dar, Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, Zahid Hamid, Anusha Rehman Khan Advocate, Lt Gen (r) Abdul Qadir Baloch, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Abdul Hakeem Baluch and Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry nominated by the ruling PML-N.
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) is represented by Syed Naveed Qamar, Shazia Mari, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Mian Raza Rabbani and Senator Farooq H. Naek. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is represented by MNAs Shafqat Mehmood, Dr Shireen Mazari and Dr. Arif Alvi on this committee. Senator Col. Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi, Naeema Kishwar Khan and Dr Muhammad Farooq Sattar represent the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) in the electoral reforms committee.
Abdul Rahim Mandokhail from PKMAP, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao from Qaumi Watan Party, Ejaz ul Haq from PML-Z, Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed from Awami Muslim League, Sahibzada Tariq Ullah from JI, Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel from ANP, Usman Khan Tarakai from Awami Jamhuri Ittehad Pakistan, Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi of National Peoples Party, Ghaus Bux Khan Mahar of PML-Functional, Syed Ghazi Ghulab Jamal from Independent members of the National Assembly, Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed from PML, Senator Mir Israrullah Khan Zehri of BNP-A, Senator Hilal ur Rehman from FATA , Senator Muhammad Talha Mehmood from JUI-F are also part of the committee. 

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal