Dar, Shah agree on NCHR, NCM members

ISLAMABAD: The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the opposition Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) have finalised the names of members of the National Commission for Human Rights (NCHR) after mutual consultations.
Both sides also evolved a consensus on the names for the National Commission for Minorities when Finance Minister Ishaq Dar met with Opposition Leader Syed Khursheed Shah in his National Assembly chamber to settle this long-awaited issue.
Ishaq Dar held consultations with Shah on behalf of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif who is bound to evolve a consensus with opposition leader for the members and chairman NCHR. 
Following the completion of consultations, the prime minister will forward these names to the National Assembly speaker, who will refer the matter to a four-member parliamentary committee that would interview the people finalised for members and chairman of the commission. The bill to establishment the NCHR was passed by parliament during the PPP government in November 2012. The law empowers the federal government to appoint the NCHR members under a procedure involving a public notice inviting suggestions, consultations between the prime minister and leader of the opposition in National Assembly, and approval by a bipartisan parliamentary committee before a presidential confirmation.
The NCHR will comprise of a chairperson who has been or is qualified to be a judge of the Supreme Court or possesses knowledge of matters relating to human rights; one member from each province, the Federally Administered Tribal Areas and Islamabad capital territory with knowledge of matters relating to human rights; the chairperson of the National Commission on the Status of Women; one member from minorities and a secretary.
Dar and Shah also discussed the names for National Commission for Minorities (NCM) and evolved the consensus on 10 names proposed from both sides.
This NCM will consist of four members from the Muslim community, two each from Christian and Hindu and one each from Parsi and Sikh communities.
Both sides also discussed the appointment of chief election commissioner (CEC); however, they could not finalise the name for the key constitutional post, sources stated. Currently, the post is being held by an acting CEC Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali after Justice Nasirul Mulk took over as chief justice of Pakistan upon the retirement of former CJP Tassadduq Hussain Jillani recently.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal