SC asked to permanently bar Imran, Qureshi, Qadri, Rashid from polls

LAHORE: Barrister Zafarullah Khan of the Watan Party on Wednesday moved a petition in the Supreme Court requesting imposition of a permanent ban on contesting elections on Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan and party leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Pakistan Awami Tehreek chief Tahirul Qadri and Awami Muslim League head Sheikh Rashid for their alleged constitutional violations.
He stated that except Qadri others are elected members of the National Assembly. He stated that they all not only violated their oath of parliament but with Qadri, their actions amounted to refusal to obey the constitution. He stated that the PAT and PTI workers unlawfully entered the PTV headquarters and ransacked the premises besides harassing the employees. 
The acts of the respondents, he said, fell within the ambit of sedition. He requested that the three MNAs and Qadri be permanently disqualified from being elected members of parliament.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal