PPP sends names for electoral reforms body

ISLAMABAD – Leader of Opposition Syed Khursheed Shah on Thursday sent four names to National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq for inclusion in the special committee on electoral reforms.

The names of Senator Aitzaz Ahsan, Senator Raza Rabbani, Naveed Qamar and Shazia Marri were sent for the Pakistan People’s Party's representation in the electoral reforms committee. On June 10, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had written to the National Assembly speaker, asking him to constitute a special parliamentary committee comprising members of the two houses of the parliament to take up the issue of electoral reforms and prepare comprehensive recommendations to ensure free, fair and transparent elections in Pakistan.

The prime minister had said the parliamentary committee may consider suggestions to amend the constitutional provisions relating to the caretaker government and the adoption of the latest technology currently available for holding elections. The 32-member committee was to be formed in consultation with the Senate chairman and would submit its final report to the speaker within three months.

Later on June 19, a motion moved by Science and Technology Minister Zahid Hamid – who said it had the consent of all 10 parties present in the house including the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N), and opposition PPP and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) – authorised the speaker to constitute, in consultation with the chairman of the Senate and leaders of parliamentary parties in the lower house, the committee comprising members from all parliamentary parties in proportion to their representation in the parliament.

"The speaker may replace any member of the committee on request of the leader of the parliamentary party concerned,” it said.



comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal