PM declares to neither resign nor go on leave

National political leadership vows to maintain supremacy of constitution, says Nawaz

ISLAMABAD – Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has declared that he would neither resign nor go on leave while national political leadership had resolved that there could not be any compromise on supremacy of the constitution and continuity of the democratic system.

A joint declaration to this effect came during meeting of the national political leaders with Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in Islamabad on Monday. Nawaz Sharif categorically said that he would set the tradition of making the mandate hostage.

The prime minister reiterated his firm resolve to accept the constitutional demands of the Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) and the Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) and ready to hold talks with their leaders but would not bow down before any unconditional condition.

The meeting pointed out that future of Pakistan was linked with democracy and any deviation could be dangerous for federation of Pakistan. The leaders expressed their firm resolve that they stand by the prime minister in the struggle to defend the democracy.

All parliamentary parties decided to become party to the petition filed in the Supreme Court for supremacy of the parliament. They said that they would not allow to set a precedent under which a few people to make hostage mandate of millions of people.

The meeting strongly condemned attacks on the parliament, Prime Minister House and Pakistan Television. These attacks were attacks on democracy and state. Leader of the Opposition in the Senate declared that if someone tried to besiege the Prime Minister House then political leadership would stay with the prime minister in the Prime Minister House.

The meeting condemned irresponsible role played by a section of media by trying to create misunderstanding between institutions. Awami National Party (ANP) leader Haji Adeel told the prime minister that if he resigned then they would leave him and therefore, he should not even entertain the idea of resigning.

Those who attended the meeting include Syed Khursheed Shah, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Maulana Fazlur Rehman, Ijazul Haq, Babar Khan Ghauri, Dr Farooq Sattar, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao, Mir Hasil Bizenjo, Haji Adeel, Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour, Abbas Khan Afridi and Ghazi Gulab Jamal.

comments powered by Disqus
  • DailyTimes.Official
  • DailyTimes_DT
  • Rss
Sunday Magazine
Aaj Kal